Let me kiss the
tears from your cheeks
wash away the
salty tracks they’ve left
smooth a little of the
exhaustion from your face.

That is what I wish you’d
say to me
but you don’t say anything at all.

Your heart was broken beyond repair
I thought I could fix it
glue the shattered pieces back together.

You didn’t mean to hurt me.
Of all people
you were the one who
understood what it was to have
someone walk out of your life
without a word.

But the pieces wouldn’t
fit quite right
and when you lost someone else
even more important to you
I felt the shrapnel
from your rebroken heart
pierce mine and
tear it to pieces.

I can’t love someone
who’s no longer there.
I can’t wait forever
for someone who may never come back.
I can’t protect myself
from being forgotten
unless I let you go.

I wish you’d come back to me
if only to say goodbye
instead of leaving me in silence.
Your silence says everything
but you don’t say anything at all.

Leave a Reply

