I knew you’d be my
first something.
I never thought that
something would be
heartbreak.
I never thought my last
memory of us
would be watching you
walk away
your fingers still
hooked around my heartstrings
pulling them with you
until they snapped.

You never even
said goodbye
just turned away
and left your silence
ringing in my ears
until I could hear
nothing else.

Now I’m left wandering
trying to find
something
somewhere
that makes me feel okay.

So this is what it’s like to be lost.

Leave a Reply

