You mutter to yourself
while you work
much in the same way I do
pencil tilted at an angle
face close to the page
as you write
as if being
physically closer
to the question
will bring you
mentally closer
to the answer.

Your concentration
shows on your face
occasionally your brow furrows
in confusion or frustration
pencil pausing
relaxing again when you
move your hand to write.

I could be content
to just sit and
watch you work
for hours
if I didn’t know
that if I leaned towards you
you’d lift your face up
to kiss me
or if I reached for it
you’d give your hand to mine
and smile.

But I know your
hands and lips will be there
to hold and kiss later
when your work is done
and you can give me your
full attention
so for now I’ll be patient
sit and watch you work
and let you wonder
at why I’m smiling so much .

Leave a Reply

