The kitchen is warm
the smell of spices
wafting from a large pot on the stove
Billy Joel crooning from the stereo
under the cupboard as you hold my hands
And so it goes…

My thoughts drift to you
and the nights we spent
dancing on this kitchen floor
swaying to the sounds of
Billy Joel singing soft and low
And you’re the only one who knows…

My brother’s in this kitchen now
the stove is cold, the spices gone
he holds me close, calls you my mistake
but he doesn’t understand as Billy Joel sings
And you can have this heart to break.

Leave a Reply

